Mulberry madness

I couldn’t believe it when my friend, Laura Oliphant, shared this article with me yesterday. 
http://www.standard.co.uk/news/london/mother-with-newborn-in-harness-was-banned-from-entering-mulberry-handbag-sale-a3363816.html

First of all, a baby harness is not a bag! A baby is not a possession to be put in a bag. A baby is a human being who needs tender love and care, and who’s mother (or father) should be able to go about their day without this level of discrimination.

I’m sure this wasn’t a Mulberry policy, but their employees not using their basic common sense. Given Mulberry’s target  audience is woman of childbearing age they would be alienating a large chunk of their segment if they kept this up. 

I know from my own experience that when a retailer or restaurant is baby-friendly and helpful I spend more of my money there. But when I get a frosty or bad reaction I don’t ever return. 

Training staff in how to be kind and courteous is key to all retailers. Teaching them to use their common sense is more difficult, but these sorts of mistakes can do fundamental and long-term damage to their brands. 

As a big fan, and regular customer, of Mulberry I’m so disappointed with this story and I hope they contact the woman involved. 

Leave a Reply

