My love is like a red red rose

My son is the love of my life. I’m not at all embarrassed to say that. He lights up my every moment. He makes me want to be better, to succeed, to change the world to make it a better place for him. 

That’s why I can’t support the Labour Party any more. I simply don’t believe that having Jeremy Corbyn as Prime Minister, or Labour running our country, could in any way be good for my wee boy’s future. 

Why? Because they want to take our country back to the 70s, not forward to 2017, 2018, or indeed 2025. They don’t believe in wealth creation. They don’t believe in enabling and celebrating individual or collective success. They are anti business and anti globalisation. They are anti-interventionism, and have dodgy ‘friends’ in some of the world’s worst organisations. John McDonnell is a bully. Diane Abbott is at best stupid. And Corbyn is a puppet for the hard left, most recently speaking at an SWP event!

I used to say I couldn’t vote anything but Labour. That my blood was red for a reason. That I loved the Labour Party like I loved my family. But as I’ve grown up. As I’ve become a boss and a mother, I’ve realised that choosing the person to be Prime Minister and the Party to run the country is a big responsibility. It can’t come down to blind loyalty. It has to be about the political vision, the personal leadership, that is on offer. It has to be about who is offering job security and educational opportunity. Who is balancing economic growth with a strong welfare state. Who do I believe, when our country is in danger, will protect us and the rest of the world. Corbyn and the Labour Party he is leading is not the answer to any of the things outlined above. 

So the obvious question is who will I vote for? And the honest answer is that right now I just don’t know. Locally, in Haringey, I will vote Labour. We have a strong sensible Labour Council that is investing in our community. But at the General Election I will have to actually read the manifestos, listen to the speeches, and for the first time in my adult life I will be one of those fought over floating voters. Unless, of course, Labour finds its purpose (and a new leader) before then. But I won’t hold my breath.

Leave a Reply

